Cypress County is governed by an elected council with one councillor elected from each of the nine electoral wards.  The Reeve, or the head of council, is elected by the council members.

Council passes bylaws and policies to make Cypress County a safe and sustainable community.  Council appoints themselves and members of the public to various boards and committees to ensure a smooth running organization.  A CAO (Chief Administrative Officer) is also appointed to implement council’s direction through an efficient administrative structure.

Residents or business owners who have an issue that they want to discuss directly with council will need to request permission for a delegation, as detailed in Policy ADM PR3.

Council Appointed Boards, Commissions and Committees
The Agricultural Service Board (ASB) has five members and deals with agricultural matters, including enforcement of provincial acts such as the Weed Control Act.  They develop programs to protect and improve the agricultural productivity of the area.

The Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) consists of six members.  They meet monthly to decide on subdivision and development applications, based on the County Land Use Bylaw and provincial planning regulations.  Their goal is to approve development proposals that do not unduly interfere with the amenities of the neighbourhood or materially interfere with or affect the use, enjoyment or value of the neighbouring properties.

The five member Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) hears appeals on development permits or subdivisions approved by the MPC.  An Assessment Review Board (ARB) hears appeals on property assessment issues.

All nine members of council sit on the Recreation Board.  This board provides annual operating and capital grants to community organizations that are recognized as operating recreational facilities eligible for funding within Cypress County.

There are three Councillors on the Fire Services Board and together with four staff and volunteer firefighters, a Fire Master Plan will be developed and recommended to Council.  This plan will establish the standard for all fire services activities within Cypress County, including things like service levels, equipment, communications and training.  

Members appointed to the various boards, commissions and committees that the County is involved with can be viewed here

Agendas and meeting minutes are available for viewing on the County’s public document library